Dominion Status

After signing three security agreements with D.S. Senanayake on November 11, 1947, the British Government passed the Ceylon Independence Act on November 21, 1947, in the British Parliament, after the Colonial Secretary announced in a proclamation that Ceylon (now Sri Lanka) would be granted independence under the Commonwealth of Nations. On December 3 of the same year, this bill was approved by the British King on December 10, after being passed by majority vote in the Parliament of Ceylon. On February 4, 1948, Ceylon was declared an independent state. On March 6, 1948, the National Flag Committee was appointed to create a national flag for independent Ceylon. S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike served as its chairman, Senarat Paranavitana worked as the secretary, and T. B. Jaya, Lalitha Rajapaksa, G. G. Ponnambalam, and Sudesh Nadesan were other members.

The last time this flag was revised was as per the instructions of the Sri Lanka Flag Design Committee. Accordingly, instead of the four beralu in the corners, the four bo leaves were added. These bo leaves depict Metta (loving-kindness), Karuna (compassion), Mudita (sympathetic joy), and Upekkha (equanimity). The National Flag conforms to the Sri Lanka Standard Specification No. S.L.S 693-1985.

Ceylon Independence Act 1947

Report of the National Flag Committee, 1951

Department of National Archives Sri Lanka

Department of
National Archives
Sri Lanka

Last Modified: 2024-05-29 09:58:09~ Server Time: 2024-07-15 02:19:52